Available in: Share article

5 destinations in Italy you didn't know were UNESCO Heritage Sites

Italy has about 51 World Heritage Sites

  • November 11, 2018 17:40
  • Author S. Lukanova
Medium campanile 2925173 1280

Italy has 51 UNESCO World Heritage Sites - more than any other country in the world. Rome, Florence or Venice are just some and practically the most popular destinations in Italy that are part of UNESCO's list. However, there are many much smaller towns and regions that are difinitely worth the visit. Here are 5 of them:

1. The Dolomites

This mountain range, located in the northern part of Italy, used to be part of Austria and even today visitors claim to feel it slightly different than the rest of Italy. Is is also definitely the most maginificent range in Europe.

2. Urbino

In the 15th century this small Italian town was one of the most important Renaissance centers in the country. It is also the birthplace of one of the most significantarchitects of the High Renaissance - Raphael.


Thetrulli are what makeAlberobello really famous. It received its recognition as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1996. Even today, historians aren't exactly sure why these houses were built that way.


These spectacular stone structures are located in the region ofBasilicata which has been continuously occipied since thePaleolithic age.


It is the wine region of Italy, located in thewestern side of the Alps. Its tradition of winemaking is still authentic today. The region is also an attractive gastronomic destination.


TheMayor.EU stands against fake news and disinformation. If you encounter such texts and materials online, contact us at info@themayor.eu