Available in: Share article

Elections of the municipal and provincial councils in Belgium will take place on Sunday

In Belgium voting is considered a civil duty, therefore it is mandatory for everyone

  • October 12, 2018 21:30
  • Author Aseniya Dimitrova
Medium arnaud jaegers 253360 unsplash
Source: Arnaud Jaegers on Unsplash

The country is divided in three regions – Brussels Capital with 19 municipalities, Flanders with 5 provinces and 308 municipalities, Wallonia with 5 provinces and 262 municipalities. The municipality is the closest authority to the citizens and enjoys a large autonomy, under the supervision of the regions. The municipalities are responsible for public order, civil status, population registry and social aid. They are also competent in public works, housing and education.

There are a total of 10 provinces, which are autonomous, under the supervision of superior public bodies. They are competent in social order and everything in provincial interest.

In the forthcoming elections all adults registered in the respective municipality before 31st of July having civil and political rights can participate. Residents of other countries can also vote, but only in municipal elections. For non-European citizens and additional requirement of 5 years of residence is in place.

Finally, an interesting practice can be mentioned: during the Election Day, there is a promotional campaign for organs donation. The electoral administrations in place will provide information and special declarations to all interested voters.

Source: Direction des Elections; Belgium.be

TheMayor.EU stands against fake news and disinformation. If you encounter such texts and materials online, contact us at info@themayor.eu