Available in: Share article

Local elections in Poland to take place on Sunday October 21st

Polish residents are voting for political representatives at three levels of local government

  • October 16, 2018 09:30
  • Author Aseniya Dimitrova
Medium arnaud jaegers 253359 unsplash
Source: Arnaud Jaegers on Unsplash

Polish local government consists of three administrative levels: 16 provinces or regions (known by locals as voivodeships) on top of which is a centrally appointed governor and elected assembly; 315 counties (or powiats) with elected council subdivided in 2494 municipalities (gminas in Polish) with elected council and mayor. Councillors and mayors are elected for a 5-year term. Municipal elections are subject to a second term on 4th November, if a candidate fails to receive 50% of approval.

These elections are the first after the modifications of new Electoral code passed in June. They are of essential importance for the political order in the country as they will either consolidate the existing dominance of the conservative PiS at national level, or will draw new lines of division in Polish society and open up the campaign for next year’s European parliament elections and the National legislative later in the year. It is namely at the regional level where the essential part of European funds distribution is decided, therefore the stakes behind the vote are high as usual.

As for the voting rights, all registered adult Polish citizens residing in Poland are allowed to vote for the respective local authorities. Foreigners with permanent residence in Poland are also allowed to vote.

Source : Statistics Poland; WYBORY SAMORZĄDOWE 2018

TheMayor.EU stands against fake news and disinformation. If you encounter such texts and materials online, contact us at info@themayor.eu