Available in: Share article

Six Finnish Smart Cities work together

They are building a model for sustainable urban development

  • April 08, 2019 21:30
  • Author Monika Dimitrova
Medium cooperation
Source: Pixabay

Six cities from Finland are part of the “6Aika programme”, in Finnish that means “6 cities”. They are Helsinki, Espoo, Vantaa, Turku, Tampere and Oulu. The project represents a sustainable urbanization strategy, supported by the European Cohesion Policy. The sixth largest Finnish cities tackle the challenges of urbanisation and evolve towards ever smarter and inherently human-centric cities. They are home to some 30% of the population of the country. As a result, their joint development projects are of strategical importance. The goal of the Six City Strategy is to create new business, know-how and jobs in Finland.

The Six City Strategy is implemented through projects. The pilot projects range from smart mobility, health and well-being, circular economy and energy efficiency to the educational sector as well as several employment projects. All the projects involve at least two operators from the areas of the 6 cities.

The structure of the Six City Strategy is separate in 3 large-scale spearhead projects:

  1. Open Data and Interfaces
  2. Open Participation and Custumership
  3. Open Innovation Platforms

Source: 6Aika

TheMayor.EU stands against fake news and disinformation. If you encounter such texts and materials online, contact us at info@themayor.eu