Calendar

Slovenia

Date Event
Feb 08 Saturday Preseren Day, the Slovene Cultural Holiday Preseren Day, the Slovene Cultural Holiday marks the anniversary of the death of Slovene poet France Preseren
Apr 27 Monday Slovenian Resistance Day Slovenian Resistance Day
Jun 08 Monday Primož Trubar Day On this day Slovenia commemorates Primož Trubar - a leading figure in the forming of the Slovene nation
Jun 25 Thursday Statehood Day in Slovenia On 25 June Slovenia celebrates its declarations of independence from Yugoslavia in 1991
Aug 17 Monday Unification of Prekmurje Slovenes with the Mother Nation On this day Slovenia celebrates the incorporation of the Prekmurje region into its territory in the aftermath of WW1
Sep 15 Tuesday Return of Primorska to the Motherland On this day Slovenia celebrates the return of the territory of Primorska following the defeat of Italy in WW2
Sep 23 Wednesday Slovenian Sports Day On this day Slovena celebrates the essential role of sports in today's society
Oct 25 Sunday Sovereignty Day On this day Slovenia celebrates the withdrawal of the last Yugoslav soldiers from its territory in 1991
Nov 01 Sunday All Saints' Day An important day for remembrance in the Catholic parts of Europe
Nov 23 Monday Rudolf Maister Day On this day Slovenia commemorates the life of Rudolf Maister who resisted the Austrian annexation of Maribor and Lower Styria
Dec 26 Saturday Slovenian Independence and Unity Day On this day Slovenia celebrates the results of the country's 1990 independence referendum