Available in: Share article

Toulouse – a heritage city

The French city counts two UNESCO World Heritage Sites

  • August 28, 2018 12:30
  • Author Monika Dimitrova
Medium architecture 3205747 960 720
Source: Pixabay

Toulouse is the capital of the French department of Haute-Garonne and of the region of Occitanie. It is the fourth-largest city in France. The Univeristy of Toulouse is one of the oldest in Europe (founded in 1229) and, with more than 103,000 students, it is the fourth-largest university campus in France, after the universities of Paris, Lyon and Lille.

Toulouse counts two UNESCO World Heritage Sites, the Canal du Midi (designated in 1996 and shared with other cities), and the Basilica of St.Sernin, the largest remaining Romanesque building in Europe, designated in 1998 because of its significance to the Santiago de Compostela pilgrimage route.  

Source: Toulouse Municiplality

TheMayor.EU stands against fake news and disinformation. If you encounter such texts and materials online, contact us at info@themayor.eu