Historia de la ciudad
Traces of human life in Amorgos can be found all the way back in the 5th millennium BC. In its three ancient settlements the Cycladic and the Mycenaean civilizations flourished. Throughout the area’s history both the Milesians and the Naxians colonized Amorgos.
Amorgos was also a member of the first Athenian league. It consequently became dependent on the Macedonians, the Ptolemy’s, the samians, the rhodians and the romans.
The island underwent Christianization in the 4th century AC.
The constant pirate raids forced the inhabitants to use both the castle of Chora and the Kastri in Kati Méria as protective fortifications over the centuries.
Amorgos island is situated on the eastern end of the Cyclades between Naxos and Astypalea. The land area spans a total of 126.346 square kilometres and the population is around 2000 residents. There are two ports Katapola and Aegiali. The municipality of Amorgos is subdivided into the following communities: Aigiali, Amorgos, Tholaria, Lagada, Ormos, Katapola and Vroutsis. Chora is the capital.
Address: 840 08 Amorgos
Amorgos has three very well-developed economy sectors: tourism, agriculture and fishing.
Beautiful beaches all over the island and unique hiking routes offer an unforgettable experience in Amargos. Here you can visit also the Monastery of Panagia Hozoviotissa, a unique monument which was established in 1088 by the emperor Alexios Komninos. A must visit is also the shipwreck in Kalotaritissa. One must also not miss out on the local folklore museum.