Thumb great coat of arms of luxembourg Luxembourg

Default luxembourg 2648046 1280
Lähde: Pixabay
Thumb capture Mayor

Lydie Polfer

Kaupungin historia

Although the city was inhabited by the Roman Empire, Luxembourg began officially to be spoken in 963. Over the next five centuries the region prospered under the rule of Luxembourg but lost its independence after their rule. In 1477 the district was already under the Habsburg rule. Later, Luxembourg became part of the Southern Netherlands. In 1815, after the French Revolution, Luxembourg was declared Grand Duchy, and in 1839 the country was in a personal union with the Netherlands, ending in the late 1890s. The country gained its independence from the German Reich after the end of the Second World War, 1945.

Luxembourg City, the capital of Luxembourg, is located in the heart of Western Europe. The population of the city is 115 227 as of 2017, and the area is The most elevated point in the city is 560m above sea level. Luxembourg is divided into 24 administrative districts, with some of the historic quarters of the city subdivided into smaller neighborhoods.


    Address: 1143 Luxembourg

    Working hours: 08:00am – 05:00pm

In 2011, the city became the second-highest gross domestic product per capita, making it one of the richest cities in the world. The capital is ranked 19th in the world by quality of life. It houses the headquarters of many EU institutions. Some of the major branches of the city's economy are finance and banking, transport, communications, and the industrial sector.


Street 2655614 1280
Lähde: Pixabay

Luxembourg is a popular tourist destination, especially for the people from the neighboring countries. With its central location in Europe, the city attracts tourists from other parts of the continent, too. The main sights are both cultural and architectural, including parks and green areas. The National Museum of History and Art, the Museum of the History of Luxembourg City, where 17th century buildings can be seen, preserving artifacts from the Middle Ages – these are some of the most visited museums. The Natural History Museum, founded in 1850, is divided into several sections - botany, ecology, geology, mineralogy, geophysics, astrophysics, paleontology, vertebrates and invertebrates. The rich collection of the museum makes it extremely popular with local and foreign visitors alike.