Available in: Deel de artikel

Cyprus reduces the number of municipalities to 17

The move is part of the government’s flagship local government reform

  • 02 december 2019 19:30
  • Author Monika Dimitrova
Medium cyprus

The Cypriot Interior Minister Constantinos Petrides presented today the government’s flagship local government reform which almost halves the number of municipalities through wide-ranging mergers. 17 new municipalities will be formed from the planned merger of the existing 30: 4 in Nicosia, 4 in Limassol, 4 in Larnaca, 3 in Paphos and 2 in Famagusta.

Nicosia district:

The 4 new municipalities in the Nicosia district result from the merger of 17 existing local authorities, 10 municipalities and seven communities. The number of residents in municipalities will increase from 255,000 today to 270,000.

The four new municipalities are:

  • Nicosia, Strovolos, Ayios Dhometios, Engomi, Aglandjia
  • Lakatamia, Tseri, the Anthoupolis housing estate
  • Latsia and Geri
  • Dali and South Nicosia

Limassol district:

  • Limassol, Mesa Yitonia, Tserkes Tiflik
  • Ayios Athanasios, Germasoyia, Ayios Tychonas, Mouttayiaka, Arkounta, Foinikarion, Armenochori
  • Ano and Kato Polemidia
  • Ypsonas, Asomatos, Sotira, Erimi, Kolossi, Araxoni, Akrotiri

The 4 new municipalities result from the merger of 6 municipalities and 12 communities. The number of residents will increase from 177,000 to 209,000.

Larnaca district:

  • Larnaca, Aradippou, Livadia, Oroklini
  • Meneou, Dromolaxia, Kiti, Pervolia, Tersephanou
  • Lefkara, Vavla, Delikipos, Kato Drys, Kato Lefkara, Kornos
  • Athienou, Avdellero

The new municipalities result from the merger of 6 municipalities and 12 communities, which will also increase the population of the district by 17,714.

Paphos district:

Paphos, Geroskipou, Achelia, Dimi, Konia

Western Paphos, Peyia, Emba, Lemba, Kissonerga, Chlorakas

Polis Chrysochous, Argaka, Markountas, Chrysochous, Goudi, Pelathousa, Kinousa, Peristerona

The 3 new municipalities result from the merger of 19 local authorities, 4 municipalities and 15 communities. The population will increase from 46,741 to 65,195.

Famagusta district:

Ayia Napa: Protaras, Paralimni, Dheryneia, Ayia Napa, Sotira

Kokkinochoria: Avgorou, Liopetri, Frenaros, Achna, Acheritou

The 2 municipalities merge four existing municipalities and five communities, increasing the number of residents by 17,136.

30 Cypriot municipalities and 48 communities will be merged, which means that 83% of the population or 700,000 residents will now be part of a municipality, compared to 71% currently.

Under the new system, local authorities will have the tools to implement policies on which they can be directly judged by their residents. It is expected that the reforms will also cover the licensing framework which will become easier and more uniform. Other advantages will be municipal policing with specific responsibilities and powers and inter-municipal transport for the residents.

Now, local authorities will operate under separate legislation and will have stronger powers regarding social policy. In this way social housing, kindergartens and nursing homes can function more effectively. They will also be responsible for the utilisation and maintenance of local infrastructure such as parks and green areas.

TheMayor.EU stands against fake news and disinformation. If you encounter such texts and materials online, contact us at info@themayor.eu