The New European Bauhaus Prizes reward bold and inclusive decisions in the urban landscape, Source: Unsplash

Apply for the New European Bauhaus Prizes, and win up to 30 000 euros

Apply for the New European Bauhaus Prizes, and win up to 30 000 euros

The 2023 edition of the creative initiative promises to be bigger, bolder and more inclusive

The European Commission has launched the application process for the 2023 New European Bauhaus Prizes. The new competition will reward 15 exemplary initiatives linking sustainability, aesthetics, and inclusiveness - the core values of the New European Bauhaus (NEB).

There are some new and exciting additions to the format as well. In the context of the European Year of Skills, this edition has a strand focusing on education and learning. For the first time, NEB will welcome applications for projects and concepts in the EU Member States and the Western Balkans.

NEB expands to the Western Balkans and to educators

The New European Bauhaus Prizes 2023 are open to applications from the EU Members States. For the first time, they are also open to the Western Balkans. The Prizes will award up to EUR 30 000 for outstanding projects linking the core principles of the NEB initiative.

The Prizes will be awarded in four thematic categories:

  • Reconnecting with nature
  • Regaining a sense of belonging
  • Prioritising the places and people that need it the most
  • The need for long-term, life-cycle thinking in the industrial ecosystem.

Furthermore, each category will feature three parallel competition strands:

  • Strand A: “New European Bauhaus Champions”, devoted to existing and completed projects with clear and positive results.
  • Strand B: “New European Bauhaus Rising Stars”, dedicated to concepts submitted by young talents aged 30 or less. The concepts can be at different stages of development, from ideas with a clear plan to the prototype level.
  • Strand C: “New European Bauhaus Education Champions”, devoted to initiatives focusing on education and learning. Both completed projects, as well as initiatives with a minimum level of maturity, are eligible.

What’s in it for the winners?

The submission deadline for candidates is 31 January 2023. Create an account here if you wish to apply. The jury will select 12 winners (one winner for each category in each strand). Plus, three winners will be selected through an open public voting (one winner per strand).

All winners will receive a monetary prize:

  • 30,000 euros for winners of the New European Bauhaus Champions (Strand A) and New European Bauhaus Education Champions (Strand C),
  • 15,000 euros for winners of the New European Bauhaus Rising Stars (Strand B).

All finalists will be invited to Brussels to participate in the award ceremony and will benefit from a communication package provided by the Commission in order to support the promotion of their project.



Growing City


Smart City


Green City


Social City


New European Bauhaus




ECP 2021 Winner TheMayorEU