Mayor of the Year 2019, Source:

Find out who won the “Mayor of the Year” 2019 awards in Bulgaria

Find out who won the “Mayor of the Year” 2019 awards in Bulgaria

Hundreds of thousands of Bulgarians participated in the vote to choose the best mayors

Yesterday, September 18, 2019 at the official ceremony at the National Palace of Culture in Sofia the best mayors in Bulgaria were awarded in 9 categories: "Mayor of the Year", "Mayor of the citizens", "Urban environment", "Transport", "Tourism, culture, festivals and traditions", "Education, sport and youth policies", "Investments and jobs", "Social municipality" and "Smart City".

The winners were chosen following an online contest. Users were invited to cast their votes on the website’s special platform and to make a statement by evaluating the work of mayors and their teams. An award was given to three mayors in each category – to mayors of small municipalities, medium municipalities and large municipalities, determined by their population sizes (small – with up to 20 thousand residents, medium – with up to 50 thousand and large with over 50 thousand).

The grand prize "Mayor of the Year" was awarded to Zlatko Jivkov, mayor of Montana, Dobromiv Dobrev, mayor of Gorna Oryahovitsa and Vasko Stoilkov, mayor of Slivnitsa. 

Among the most prestigious awards is also the "Mayor of the citizens" prize. The winners in this category are Jivko Todorov, mayor of Stara Zagora, Donka Mihaylova, mayor of Troyan and Diana Ovcharova, mayor of Ivaylovgrad. 

And here are the rest of the winners in the other categories:

Category "Urban environment"

Small municipality – Svilen Shitov, Devnya

Medium municipality – Metodi Chimev, Dupnitsa 

Large municipality – Ivan Portnih, Varna 

Category "Transport"

Due to the lack of a developed urban transport network, small and medium municipalities were not eligible for this award. 

Large municipality - Yordanka Fandakova, Sofia

Viara Cerovska, Pernik

Category "Tourism, culture, festivals and traditions"

Small municipality – Krasimir Daskalov, Devin

Medium municipality – Ivan Aleksiev, Pomorie

Large municipality - Galina Stoyanova, Kazanlak 

Category "Education, sport and youth policies"

Small municipality – Vladimir Dzjambazov, Dolna Banya 

Medium municipality – Nikolay Memelov, Smolyan

Large municipality - Daniel Panov, Veliko Tarnovo

Category "Investments and jobs"

Small municipality – Trayko Mladenov, Kostinbrod

Medium municipality – Aleksi kesiakov, Chelopech 

Large municipality - Kalin Kamenov, Vratsa 

Category "Social municipality"

Small municipality – Stanimir Petkov, Ugarchin

Due to similar results, two municipalities are winning awards for

Medium municipality – Kornelia Marinova, Lovech 

Nikola Belishki, Panagyurishte

Large municipality - Atanas Kambitov, Blagoevrad

Category "Smart city"

Small municipality – Sunay Hasan, Momchilgrad

Medium municipality – Ivan Gavalyugov, Botevgrad

Large municipality - Dimitar Nikolov, Burgas 



Growing City


Smart City


Green City


Social City


New European Bauhaus




ECP 2021 Winner TheMayorEU