Transformative Action Award ceremony, Source: European Committee of the Regions

You can now apply for the 2021 Transformative Action Award

You can now apply for the 2021 Transformative Action Award

The winner will receive EUR 10,000 to implement their transformative plans

Applications are now open for European cities, regions, and civil society organisations who believe they qualify to receive the 2021 Transformative Action Award. In addition to winning this prestigious award, the winner will receive EUR 10,000 to launch their transformative action.

Criteria and rewards

The 2021 Transformative Action Award will be presented to the city, region, or organisation that implements the 15 pathways of the Basque Declaration to bring about socio-cultural, socio-economic, and technological transformation to its community.

Applicants must showcase innovative transformative actions that will act as inspiration for others to replicate. In addition to this, according to ICLEI Europe, the actions must be part of an integrated approach to achieving more sustainability.

Taking this further, they must reflect a significant contribution to the realization of goals and commitments such as the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the Paris Climate Agreement, and the European Green Deal.

Moreover, they must also be linked to the thematic areas of the EU Green deal: biodiversity, sustainable food systems, sustainable agriculture, clean energy, sustainable industry, building and renovation, sustainable mobility, pollution control, and climate action.

As previously mentioned, the winner of the 2021 Transformative Action Award will receive EUR 10,000 and become recognised as a European leader of sustainable urban transformation. Some of the previous Award Winners include Katowice (Poland), Lousada, (Portugal), Ghent (Belgium), and Nilüfer (Turkey).

Application close on 31 July 2021

The award is co-organised by ICLEI, the Basque Country and the Danish City of Aalborg. Furthermore, it is supported by the European Committee of the Regions (CoR) and the European Investment Bank (EIB).

Applicants must be located in an EU Member State, EEA country, EU candidate or accession country, or in the United Kingdom. In addition to this, they must have endorsed the aforementioned Basque Declaration and the Mannheim Message which calls for five systemic changes and nine policy shifts that bring about significant transformation.

Lastly, ICLEI Europe explains that the applicants’ local authorities must be key partners in the development of Local Green Deals as well as the European Green Deal.

To receive further information or apply for the Transformative Action Award, visit the European Sustainable Cities Platform here.



Growing City


Smart City


Green City


Social City


New European Bauhaus




ECP 2021 Winner TheMayorEU