Grégory Doucet

Created on the 1st January 2015, the Lyon Metropole is a territorial community that is unique in France. As a result of a merger between the Urban Community of Lyon and General Council of the Rhône area, it encompasses the 59 communes that make up Greater Lyon (1.3 million inhabitants).

The metropolitan hub

Created in 2012, the 1st French metropolitan hub is made up of metropolitan cities and urban areas throughout the region: Lyon, Saint-Etienne, Vienne, Bourgoin-Jallieu and Villefranche-sur-Saône. Covering an area of 1600 km2 and 145 communes, it has many tourist assets, such as Saint-Etienne just 45 mins from Lyon.

Source: Only Lyon



As the capital of the greater Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region, Lyon finds itself at the heart of a natural showcase made up of vines, lakes, mountains and volcanos.