Access City Award is looking for new applicant cities, Source: Access City Award

Access City Award is once again looking to distinguish forward-looking cities

Access City Award is once again looking to distinguish forward-looking cities

The 15th edition of the competition will grant 350,000 euros to three European cities that have removed barriers to accessibility on their territories

This year marks the 15th anniversary of the Access City Award, which is a great moment to pause and look back for some reflection on the impact it’s had, but also to announce that once again the competition, organized by the European Commission and the European Disability Forum, is looking to reward forward-looking cities committed to accessibility in their environment.

The winner and runners-up will receive a monetary prize as follows:

  • 1st place: EUR 150 000
  • 2nd place: EUR 120 000
  • 3rd place: EUR 80 000

In addition, the EU Jury may decide to award up to five "Special Mentions" if there are cities that have done exceptional work in specific areas of accessibility. In honour of the 2024 Olympic and Paralympic Games, the European Commission also intends to award a Special Mention on 'Accessible Sports Infrastructure' to a city that demonstrates how sport initiatives can bring high-quality and accessible experiences for all.

How to apply?

Cities across the EU with over 50,000 inhabitants are eligible to apply. If a country has fewer than two cities with 50,000 inhabitants, two or more smaller towns with a combined population of 50,000 can apply.

Applications must be made by completing and submitting an online application by 10 September 2024 at 23.59 CET at the latest. A guidance note for applicants and the participation rules are available in all official EU languages on the Access City Award website.

The winners will be announced at an award ceremony during the European Day of Persons with Disabilities conference taking place on 28 and 29 November 2024.

A look at the previous 14 years

This year marks the 15th anniversary of the Access City Award which is an occasion to celebrate the advancements made by cities to become more accessible, and the achievements of cities to tackle today's barriers to accessibility. Over the past 14 years, 85 cities have been awarded, including 14 1st prize winners among them. The most recent city to receive the prestigious award was San Cristóbal de La Laguna (Spain).



Growing City


Smart City


Green City


Social City


New European Bauhaus




ECP 2021 Winner TheMayorEU