European Capitals of Inclusion and Diversity, Source: EU Justice on Twitter

Apply now for the European Capitals of Inclusion and Diversity Award

Apply now for the European Capitals of Inclusion and Diversity Award

Submit your application by 15 February 2022

The European Commission has officially launched the first edition of the European Capitals of Inclusion and Diversity Award. EU towns, cities, and regions that are working on building fair and inclusive societies can submit their applications until 15 February 2022 to have their efforts recognised.

With the new award, the Commission seeks to promote societies in which everyone feels safe and accepted. For this reason, it wants to recognise local authorities who work towards promoting diversity and inclusion in terms of sex, racial or ethnic origin, religion or belief, disability, age, and LGBTIQ identity.

Two main categories

According to the award’s website, there are two main categories: local authorities with less than and more than 50,000 inhabitants. In addition to this, there is also a special award for efforts to promote Roma inclusion. Commenting on the European Capitals of Inclusion and Diversity Award, EU Commissioner for Equality Helena Dalli shared:

"Cities and local communities contribute to fostering a sense of belonging and the sharing of common values. Where diversity is elevated as a priority, it is also a source of richness and innovation. With the Inclusion and Diversity awards, outstanding work implemented by communities and cities will be recognised and highlighted as an inspiration for others."

Expanding on Dalli’s last point, it is important to note that the award will not only serve to recognise the efforts of local authorities. That is, the Commission hopes that it will also inspire other EU cities and regions as the winners will share their policies and best practices.

The recently launched awards reportedly complement the annual EU Diversity Month and are one of the deliverables of the EU anti-racism action plan and LGBTIQ Equality Strategy 2020-2025.

To reiterate, local authorities can submit their applications until 12:00 CET on 15 February 2022 in any EU official language. The Award ceremony will take place on 28 April 2022.



Growing City


Smart City


Green City


Social City


New European Bauhaus




ECP 2021 Winner TheMayorEU