Younous Omarjee, Source: Facebook of Younous Omarjee

European Parliament's REGI Committee re-elects incumbent President

European Parliament's REGI Committee re-elects incumbent President

Younous Omarjee will chair the body also for the second half of the legislature

Younous Omarjee (France) has been unanimously re-elected to continue exercising his role as a President of the Committee on the Regional Development (REGI) at the European Parliament. The politician, who hails from and represents the island of Réunion, will continue leading that legislative body in its work on crafting territorial cohesion policies.

European MP since 2012

This month, Mr Omarjee also celebrates a decade since first being elected as a European Parliament MP. He represents the political platform of La France Insoumise, which itself forms part of the Confederal Group of the European United Left – Nordic Green Left (GUE/NGL).

Immediately after his re-election, he tweeted: “Happy to have been unanimously re-elected President of the Regional Development Committee of the European Parliament. Proud of the confidence of my colleagues. Solidarity and cohesion must remain at the heart of European policies.”

He will continue leading the REGI Committee for the second term of the EP legislature. In his duties he will be assisted by four Vice-Chairs:

  • Krzysztof Hetman (Poland, EPP Group)
  • Vlad-Marius BOTOŞ (Romania, Renew Europe)
  • Nora Merbarek (France, Progressive Alliance)
  • Isabel Benjumea (Spain, EPP Group)

The Regional Development Committee (REGI) is responsible for matters relating to the economic, social and territorial cohesion within the European Union. The objective of the “cohesion” policy is to reduce the development gaps between the different European regions and cities. 

It is the main investment policy of the Union, which works for jobs, growth and cooperation between European regions. For the purpose of its implementation, it relies on several financial instruments, such as the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), the Cohesion Fund, and others.



Growing City


Smart City


Green City


Social City


New European Bauhaus




ECP 2021 Winner TheMayorEU