Sustainable Cultural Tourism Awards, Source: Europa Nostra

You can now apply for the Destination of Sustainable Cultural Tourism Awards

You can now apply for the Destination of Sustainable Cultural Tourism Awards

The 2021 theme of the awards emphasises the importance of culture, heritage, and creativity

Applications for the Destination of Sustainable Cultural Tourism Awards 2021 are now open to all European tourist destinations. This year, the theme has been announced as "Regenerating European Tourism through Culture, Heritage and Creativity".

Taking this further, the 2021 edition of the awards aims to shed light on destinations who not only enhance visitors’ experiences but also maintain traditions. On its website, the European Cultural Tourism Network (ECTN) explains that applications must address one of the following six heritage-related aspects of sustainable cultural tourism:

  1. Archaeological Sites and Museums as Cultural Tourism Attractions
  2. Walking Tourism and Slow Travel – Synergies with Cultural Tourism, supported by Via Francigena Cultural Route of the Council of Europe
  3. Digitalisation in Sustainable Cultural Tourism, towards Smart Destinations
  4. Transnational Thematic Tourism Products, including European Cultural Routes
  5. Cultural and Creative Industries (CCIs) contribution to Cultural and Creative Tourism development, in the framework of the ‘International Year of Creative Economy for Sustainable Development 2021’ and Interreg Europe Cult-CreaTE project, supported by ‘Creative Tourism Network’
  6. Railway Heritage Assets for Cultural Tourism, in the framework of the ‘European Year of Rail 2021’

How can you apply?

All cultural tourist destinations in Europe are welcome to submit an application by 1 June 2021. To apply, they must select one of the six aforementioned aspects and explain the work they have undertaken to contribute to it over the past three years.

The winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony in October 2021 in Athens, Greece at the 14th International Conference for Cultural Tourism. As the initiative is non-profit, the Awards will not be monetary. Instead, winners will be recognised as "examples of excellence" that inspire others to follow in their footsteps and develop their own sustainable cultural tourism initiatives.

The Destination of Sustainable Cultural Tourism Awards 2021 have been organised by ECTN in partnership with Europa Nostra, the European Travel Commission and NECSTouR.  If you believe you have what it takes to be this year’s Destination of Sustainable Cultural Tourism, visit ECTN’s website to apply.  



Growing City


Smart City


Green City


Social City


New European Bauhaus




ECP 2021 Winner TheMayorEU