Available in: Share article

Italy quarantines 11 municipalities to limit the risk of Coronavirus infection

Suspending the right of free movement is necessary to stop the spread of the epidemic

  • February 24, 2020 16:00
  • Author Monika Dimitrova
Medium coronavirus

On the proposal of Italian President Giuseppe Conte, the Council of Ministers approved a decree on Saturday evening which introduces urgent measures regarding the containment and management of the epidemiological emergency from COVID-2019.

In this regard, the authorities have created checkpoints around the contagion municipalities to prevent residents from leaving the area. There are also so-called "sterile" corridors to allow food and medicines to enter, guaranteeing the supply of essential goods to citizens.

This includes the intervention plan started by the Italian government after dozens of coronavirus cases had been registered in Lombardy and Veneto. The measures aim to limit the transmission of the virus and also provide using the army for preventing acts of terrorism.

The 11 municipalities under quarantine are: Casalpusterlengo, Codogno, Castiglione d’Adda, Fombio, Maleo, Somaglia, Bertonico, Terranova, Castelgerundo, San Fiorano and Vò.

There, a maximum emergency is in effect. This in fact suspends the rights of free movement of persons, but this is necessary to stop the spread of an epidemic. The emergency follows the "Wuhan model", from the name of the Chinese city where the coronavirus started and where a very strict surveillance regime is in force.

The "red areas"

All areas where people have tested positive must be "isolated". Thus a real "red zone" is created which is closed to circulation.

The access routes are checked by police and carabinieri so that no one can arrive or leave. Public activities have already been suspended in these municipalities, and schools and offices are closed.


Trains or other public transport cannot reach the"red areas". The circulation within the quarantined area is limited and in the most serious cases completely forbidden.

Food and medicines

In order to guarantee the supply of basic necessities to citizens, the so-called "sterile" corridors are set up, which serve to supply shops and pharmacies with food and medicines.

Update, 8 March:

New constraint to avoid any movement in the whole of Lombardy

Since 8 March 2020 - the entire region of Lombardy, Modena, Parma, Piacenza, Reggio Emilia, Rimini, Pesaro and Urbino, Venice, Padua, Treviso, Asti, Alessandria, Verbano Cusio Ossola, Novara and Vercelli - all travel for tourism reasons are to be avoided.

TheMayor.EU stands against fake news and disinformation. If you encounter such texts and materials online, contact us at info@themayor.eu