Mayor of the Year 2018 , Source:

Find out who won the “Mayor of the Year” 2018 awards

Find out who won the “Mayor of the Year” 2018 awards

The competition between the best mayors of Bulgaria provokes high interest

Yesterday evening the official ceremony of the prestigious competition “Mayor of the Year” 2018 took place at the National Palace of Culture in Sofia.

"Mayor of the Year" is a unique initiative launched in Bulgaria in 2013. Through a national online voting, the best mayors receive public recognition annually. The competition is organized by the Portal of the Bulgarian Municipalities #KmetaBG and the free newspaper - the only national media, whose main focus is the work of all 265 municipalities in Bulgaria. This year's partner of the spectacular event was "TheMayorEU - the European portal for cities and citizens".

Hundreds of thousands of Bulgarians voted in the competition for the best mayors. Browse the list of the winners in the different categories:

In-vitro programs

  • Small municipality – Dr. Dimitar Stefanov, Tutrakan
  • Medium municipality – Donka Mihaylova, Troyan
  • Large municipality - Daniel Panov, Veliko Tarnovo

Sports and youth policies

  • Small municipality – Nina Stavreva, Kavarna
  • Medium municipality – Dr. Ivan Ivanov, Sevlievo
  • Large municipality – Ivan Portnih, Varna

Investments and employment  

  • Small municipality – Georgi Dimov, Bozhurishte
  • Medium municipality – Ivan Gavalyugov, Botevgrad
  • Large municipality – Georg Spartanski, Pleven

Tourism, culture, festivals and traditions

  • Small municipality – Georgi Ikonomov, Bansko  
  • Medium municipality – Metodi Chimev, Dupnitsa
  • Large municipality – Galina Stoyanova, Kazanlak

Video surveillance and security

  • Small municipality – Ivaylo Kamadzhiev, Novi Pazar
  • Medium municipality – Ivan Alexiev, Pomorie
  • Large municipality – Kalin Kamenov, Vratsa

Parks and ecotransport

  • Small municipality – Vasko Stoilkov, Slivnitsa
  • Medium municipality – Georgi Maradzhiev, Stamboliyski
  • Large municipality – Yordanka Fandakova, Sofia

Innovation in education

  • Small municipality - Trayko Mladenov, Kostinbrod 
  • Medium municipality – Krasimir Gerchev, Razlog
  • Large municipality – Dimitar Nikolov, Burgas

Smart City

  • Small municipality – Rumen Guninski, Pravets
  • Medium municipality – Nikola Belishki, Panagyurishte
  • Large municipality – Zhivko Todorov, Stara Zagora

Mayor of the citizens

  • Small municipality – Diana Ovcharova, Ivaylovgrad
  • Medium municipalityNikolay Melemov, Smolyan
  • Large municipality – Atanas Kambitov, Blagoevgrad

Mayor of the Year

  • Small municipality – Alexi Kesqkov, Chelopech
  • Medium municipality – Dobromir Dobrev, Gorna Oryahovitsa
  • Large municipality – Plamen Stoilov, Ruse

" - The European portal for cities and citizens" congratulates all winners!



Growing City


Smart City


Green City


Social City


New European Bauhaus




ECP 2021 Winner TheMayorEU